Top 10 Highlights of 2014

When life doesn’t go quite the way you had planned it is VERY easy to focus on the negatives, I for one am extremely guilty of this and just the other day found myself saying that 2014 had been an awful year full of bad memories. HOWEVER, when I decided to flick through a years worth of Facebook photos and pick out my top 10 highlights of 2014 it’s fair to say I was wrong, I have a lot of really good memories from 2014 I just needed a little reminder. I wanted to share these memories with you here and as a nice little post for myself to look back on. I will list them in chronological order as best as I can to avoid favouritism. Hope you enjoy!

1. My Housemates

Blog28 Blog27 Blog20 Blog10

Living with these girls made this year fun! We did pretty much everything together from dance to food time and there was an endless supply of great conversations about Beth’s summer romances and LUDanS gossip. I can’t say the house was always beautifully clean or at all hygienic as Beth and I spent one evening unclogging the shower to find what can only be described as some living monster in there. We gagged and cried with laughter. Flo often made us all feel ashamed at how hard she worked and how little we all did as we sat and caught up on Dance Moms or Revenge, but living with 4 girls who shared the same interests as me whether it was dancing or tv shows was great and I wish we could all still live together down in Landan town. Love you girls ❤

2. Working for LUSU

My role on the LUSU Solutions Team was the first job I ever had and I Blog21couldn’t have enjoyed it more. Every day was different (except a few mind numbing occasions behind the desk where NOTHING happened). I got to work at events, help people with enquiries, attempt to tackle my fear of phone calls, work with the best team of 12 students, have the greatest boss (shoutout for you there Tom Pinder) and be surrounded by some of the wackiest but nicest personalities in that office. I miss them all a lot!

Working for the Students’ Union meant working alongside 3 of my best friends Jenny, Becky and Em and being a student ambassador for the University. I got to tell prospective students how amazing it was and how much I loved it. Pretty sure I needed that as otherwise I may have exploded from Lancaster pride.

3. LUDanS

I can’t narrow this down to any one particular moment because whether it was being President, competing, choreographing, performing or making friends with everyone, everything was amazing and literally shaped my 2014.

I got to be President of THIS society of talented and bubbly dancers.

Blog19

I got to work alongside THIS gorgeous exec full of some of my closest friends.

Blog14

I got to compete with THIS amazing competition squad winning numerous trophies, best choreography awards and turning heads wherever we went. The amount of pride that this brought me throughout the year is like nothing else i’ve ever experienced!

Blog13 Blog16 Blog17 Blog29

And finally I got to organise and perform in this show!

Blog18Blog15

4. Being the ‘Poster Girl’

Blog30

Just a funny little thing I will Blog12always remember about 2014.

The year Lancaster hosted the 50th annual Roses sporting competition organised by my best friend and promoted by my beautiful face. I was featured in all my life size glory on pillars around campus and my lovely headshot could be spotted around the opening ceremony arena and football pitch. I can’t act as if I was embarrassed though…it’s no secret I loved it and now have my own copy of the picture (under my bed, not too sure what to do with it!)

This was also the first and only time I will ever wear pointe shoes. Amazing how deceiving a photograph can be hey. You’d think I was a prima ballerina from the look of this! Truth is I could just about stand there like that but when asked to turn…or arabesque…it was a big fat NO!

5. My 21st Birthday

What was supposed to be a quiet birthday which I didn’t bother celebrating very much because it was in the middle of everyone’s exams and I wasn’t in much of a celebratory mood turned into the BEST birthday surprise I could ever have asked for and am still so grateful for. Emily organised a birthday treasure hunt around Lancaster involving breakfast, shopping, manicures, ice cream sundaes, movies and ending with a meal with all of my friends who gave up precious revision time to spend it with me and I love you all for that! MASSIVE thank you once again to you too Emmy, you’re so good to me 🙂

Blog26 Blog25

6. Cycling around Grizedale Forest

A somewhat unexpected memory butBlog23Blog24 I certainly won’t forget this any time soon! The day Em and I decided to cycle 10.8 miles up and down the ‘mountains’ (i’m going to call them mountains!) of Grizedale Forest. Never have I had such an achey bum or been so proud of myself for actually doing some exercise! Despite the pain and bruises for days I had a really good time that day and it’s a cute little memory to hold on to.

.

7. Grad Ball

Dressing like a princess, having Loui as my date and going to Grad Ball with so many of the friends I’ve made over the past 3 years just had to be included in my top 10. I watched all of my older friends graduate and attend Grad Ball so when it came to my turn it was definitely a bit surreal but everything I had expected and a lovely way to end an amazing 3 years. It was also a proud moment as once again Em and a lot of my LUSU friends had organised it and boy was it a fantastically put together event!

Blog8 Blog7 Blog6 Blog5

8. New York with my Mummy

The trip of a lifetime to New York to celebrate my 21st birthdayBlog22 and tick it off of the bucket list. It’s a well known fact that I am a very well travelled little missy however one place I had never been and always wanted to go to was New York so we had always said that when I turned 21 my Mum would take me. It was lovely to spend some quality time with her, seeing the city, trying to work out the subway, cycling for 9 hours, getting drenched in the rain, watching Broadway shows, eating too much pizza and taking lots of pictures. Mum…if you’re reading this (which you probably are), then thank you for the most amazing holiday and week away with you. It won’t just be a highlight of 2014 but 2015, 2016, 2017…you get the picture! I love you.

9. Graduating from Lancaster University with the girl it all started with

Yes you Becky. You made it in to my highlights! Woohoo! We both made it through our degrees and graduated with a 2:1, but the highlight for me was getting to graduate with this beauty. We had very different friendship groups at uni and drifted a little bit during the beginning of 2014 however I would never have wanted to graduate with anyone else and it felt extra special to know that we quite literally were together from the very beginning, that first day I followed you through the Management School, all the way to this day…when we graduated, supposedly as young women…hmm! You know you’re a special lickle egg to me.

Blog410. Moving to London to start a 3 month internship at AKA

So 2014 ended with the big brave move to London to start an internship at Blog2an agency I had my eye on for a year prior to graduating. A dream come true really! Well..besides getting on a West End stage but that’s a very different story of which I’v partly achieved now…

I have found myself working within the loveliest team and loving every minute of the past 10 weeks I have spent with them. I have no regrets whatsoever about the choices I made post graduation and am happy where I have ended up. Now we just have to see where 2015 takes me!

.

When I said 2014 had been a bad year I couldn’t have been more wrong really hey? It did certainly have its low points but at the end of the day they only make you more grateful for moments like these. I don’t plan on making any big new years resolutions this year as I’m still working on some of the challenges 2014 threw at me and would find it all too easy to just put pressure on myself to make 2015 perfect…which isn’t realistic. I do however plan on getting back to dancing as I haven’t danced since May and that is just unacceptable, and I plan to lose the stone I have put on since the beginning of 2014. We’ll see how I get on with those for now!

To anyone who has featured in these 2014 highlights. I love youuuuuuu. And to anyone who hasn’t, I probably love you too because I’m nice like that!

**HAPPY NEW YEAR**

Leave a Reply

