Using Social Media for Change

So this is something a little bit different but equally, something I felt like sharing!

Since coming to University and meeting a certain friend in particular, i’ve really got into watching YouTube videos, particularly vloggers including Zoella and SprinkleofGlitter, and REALLY want to give it a go!! Not only am I a massive chatter box, but I do some pretty cool things in my life and go some pretty cool places, so I can’t help but think I could produce some interesting content. It also just looks like the biggest amount of fun and seen as I am pretty much useless at keeping a diary, or even writing a blog really by the look of things so far, I can’t help but think it would be perfect for me! This year I have been doing the 365 project where I take a picture everyday and then on January 1st 2014 I am going to print them out and have my entire year of 2013 in photographs. I’m really excited to look back on it all because you tend to forget how many cool things you do, or take for granted certain days, experiences, even the littlest things like that really funny day you and your friend were rolling around on the floor pretending to be fish…hehe!

Anyways, this wasn’t actually why I decided to write this blog in the first place..so let’s cut to the chase! Today I started watching JacksGap videos and have worked my way nicely through pretty much all of his videos (procrastination alert!!). One video particularly caught me and I am going to share it…..NOW:

To anyone who read my previous post regarding the ‘Make the Homeless Smile’ video, then you will know how much of a softy I am for things like this, things that can change the world, or okay maybe not the WHOLE world, but you know simple things that just change how people view things or just make people smile! This JacksGap video talks about how social media can be used for change. So many people use it now a days that you can literally make just about anything possible if you put your mind to it and create content in an exciting enough way! I particularly liked the story they spoke about with the bus lady who was being bullied by the children on her bus. Somebody found a video and posted it on their YouTube channel highlighting how wrong it was and trying to raise money for her so that she could take a holiday and get away from it all. Anyways, this campaign soon went viral and a ridiculous amount of money was raised which now funds a charity against bullying. One tiny action by somebody and their YouTube channel caused that! Similarly there is a story I read in the news a while ago about a lady who had lost her wedding ring. She had a horrible feeling that she had dropped it into a homeless man’s cup as she gave him her leftover change, and so, she optimistically went back to him the next day in the hope that he hadn’t sold or run off with it. Sure enough, to her amazement this man living on the streets had kept her extremely expensive ring for her in the hope of being able to return it. The lady was so overwhelmed by his kindness that after telling her husband, they shared their story through social media and tried to raise some money for him to show their gratitude. What started out as a fundraiser to raise a couple of hundred dollars ended up raising over $190,000, just showing the power of a little social media sharing!

As a marketing student, it doesn’t surprise me that this sort of thing excites me so much. Being able to get a message to so many people in such an effective way is amazing! As of yet….I have no idea where I would even start in trying to use social media to make a change, I can’t really think of any changes I have the power to make, although saying that defeats the very object of this post. Anyone can make a change; just identify it and do something about it. Simple. I suppose what I’m saying is I’ve not found anything I feel worthy of changing yet, but watch this space!

I love making videos and will continue to do so, even if they are only little superficial ones of me and my friends, or of my holidays around the world, you never know where it might lead me. Hopefully I never have to find a job after uni and can just become one of these vloggers who are allowed to sit at their computers all day, talking about whatever they want, making changes! Wouldn’t that be nice! I suppose in a weird way this has now taken my blog in a complete circle without even meaning to. My very first post, and the reason I started this blog was because of a man who calls himself ‘Documentally’. He believed that the news channels just didn’t do worldwide stories, issues or happenings justice and so has essentially taken it upon himself to document stories through every social media platform possible. The man is digitally mental! But if you want to find out more about that then head on over to my very first post and have a read.

For now I think i’ll stop, i’m rambling and have packing to do because tomorrow i’m GOING SKIING!!!! YAYYYYYY

Tara for now xxx

One thought on “Using Social Media for Change

  1. Pingback: Where next? |

Leave a Reply

